Day 8

on

As I was making my lunch today, thinking about the colors in my salad and how they would look in a photo, I was thinking about how much my life regarding food has changed in the past two months.

I thought I was eating somewhat heathy, I thought I just had a snacking problem – I made good meals for my family, we didn’t eat fast food too much, that sort of thing.  But as I made my salad today, feeling proud that I grew the lettuce in my garden and was making such a delicious looking lunch that I couldn’t wait to photograph and then devour, I realized how happy I am.  I am finally putting healthy AND tasty food into my body.  I feel good and I look good too.  Unlike other diets, I am eating nothing artificial and I am never hungry (which really is the key to it all, if you ask me).

But it’s time to be real, this second Whole 30 isn’t as perfect as my first time through.  Last time, I followed everything to the letter of the law.  This time, I’m about 95%.  I have used store bought Sriracha, weighing, in my mind, the amount of sugar in the sauce & how much I am consuming.  I am drinking a Starbucks Coconut Milk Latte.  I drank a glass of wine with my inlaws this weekend.  Each of these things violate the rules, however, I don’t feel guilty about any of them.  My motivation behind doing Whole 30 is not to eliminate foods to see how they effect me, it is purely to be a healthier version of myself.  Each choice was a mindful choice and did not destroy me, my health or or mission.

That being said, if this is your 1st Whole 30, do not stray from the rules!  You will need to start your 30 days over and you don’t want to do that, right?!  The recipes on this website are 100% Whole 30, my promise!

Today’s menu

 

Leave a Reply

