Day 3 – Cravings

I couldn’t for the life of my figure out why yesterday felt so tough!  Other than an occasional glass of wine or a treat, I’ve been living the Whole 30 lifestyle since April 10th!  I kept wanting to snack yesterday, even when I wasn’t hungry, I couldn’t keep my mind off of it!  I finally felt better after eating a good dinner last night!  This morning I had an “aha” moment… I didn’t eat breakfast yesterday!  Take my advice, don’t skip a meal!!

Today is much better, I ate my leftover turkey burger, brussel sprouts and sweet potatoes for breakfast.  I still had more brussel sprouts & sweet potatoes left, so I at those with leftover egg salad for my lunch.  So far, the snack attacks are at bay & hopefully I will keep them there!

Getting through cravings

The first few days of Whole 30 are the most difficult in terms of cravings.  If you’re craving something sweet, don’t give in!  Here are a few strategies to get yourself through sugar cravings…

  • Wait it out – the average craving lasts 10 minutes.  Get busy for 10 minutes & your craving will likely be gone (or at least quieter) when you are finished.
  • Assess whether you are hungry – if you are truly hungry, eat a protein/fat snack.
  • Drink a glass of water – sometimes our bodies get confused about what it wants, particularly when our systems are out of whack.  Try drinking a glass of water – you may find that your craving evaporates as your body becomes hydrated!

Do you have other strategies for tackling cravings?

Today’s menu:

Breakfast:  Turkey patty with brussel sprouts & sweet potato slices

Lunch:  Egg salad with brussel sprouts & sweet potato slices

Dinner: Steak & Squash Salad

Leave a Reply

