Spicy taco salad with mexi dressing

Taco salad is a definite “go to” recipe for me.  Lunch is a meal that I don’t like fussing with  – between making lunch for my daughter, dealing with nap time and then also squeezing in a healthy lunch for myself, I just do better if I have lunch almost ready to go.  Leftovers are an easy way to do this, but (I know this is strange) I often eat them for breakfast… so I need a lunch that is something different.

Another thing I found that I liked on my last cycle was cabbage salads.  Kalyn Cooks has a great fish cabbage bowl but I really like her recipe for Sriracha Cabbage Bowl.  The only thing is that Sriracha sauce always contains sugar.  There is a good recipe on Nom Nom Paleo, but I’m trying to watch the budget so hunting down and paying for 2 pounds of red jalepenos is more time & money than I want to invest.

I also love cabbage, it has a subtle sweetness, holds up to cooking but also tastes great raw.  It is a great companion to the spiciness I love (and reserve for lunch since the rest of my family doesn’t like spicy like I do).  I’ve found that this salad is a nice substitute for that spiciness of the Sriracha cabbage bowl without actually using Sriracha!

Ingredients:

  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1# ground beef
  • Cabbage, sliced thin (or bagged cole slaw mix)
  • 1 Red Pepper, diced
  • Other options:  Add jicama, green pepper, tomato or any other veggie you like!
  • Taco seasoning (below)
  • Homemade mayo (for dressing)
  • Cider vinegar (for dressing)
  • Avocado slices, if desired

Directions:

  • Cook onions in a bit of olive oil or ghee until translucent.  Add ground beef and cook until browned.  Add taco seasoning and 1/2c water and cook on medium-low until most of the water is evaporated.
  • While the beef is cooking, mix the taco seasoning and the dressing.
  • Layer the cabbage, red peppers, meat and dressing.  Serve with avocado if desired.

Taco Seasoning:

Taco seasoning recipe

Dressing:

Mix 1/4c homemade mayo with 1 tsp cider vinegar.  Mix well and then add 1tsp Taco Seasoning (or more, to taste) and mix again.  You can further thin the dressing using more cider vinegar or oil.

A note about fats – remember that adding healthy fats to your meal is necessary.  The protein plus fat is what will keep you full from one meal to the next.  Be sure to either eat this salad with a healthy dressing or avocado to get your healthy fat (the bit of oil from cooking your onions is not generally enough).

Leave a Reply

